Smriti Mandhana’s maiden Kia Super League

Indian T20I vice-captain Smriti Mandhana is set to become the first Indian to play in the Kia Super League (KSL), England’s domestic women’s T20 competition. Mandhana was selected by the “Western Storm” as their second overseas player. In 2017, Harmanpreet Kaur was picked by the Surrey Stars.

Ceat Cricket Rating awards for 2017-18

India skipper Virat Kohli won the International Cricketer of the Year Award at the CEAT Cricket Ratings awards. Opener Shikhar Dhawan was presented the International Batsman of the Year Award, while New Zealand’s Trent Boult won International Bowler of the Year Award. Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan, was presented with the T20 Bowler of the Year Award.

Fastest fifty for India in women?s T20 cricket

25 : Smriti Mandhana created history after smashing the fastest fifty by an Indian player in women‘s T20I cricket. Mandhana, who was opening the innings for India, achieved the feat in just 25 balls bettering her previous best in 30 balls. The overall record for the fastest fifty in women‘s T20Is belongs to Sophie Devine (18 balls) of New Zealand.


In a pulsating final, West Indies defeated England by four wickets and won the ICC World T20 title at Eden Gardens, Kolkata on April 3, 2016. Requiring 19 runs from the last over tow in, Carlos Brathwaite (34 not out) stunned not only England, but also spectators, smashing consecutive four sixes from first four balls of Ben Stoke’s over. It was West Indis’ second T20 World title, earlier winning it in 2012, and became the first team in the World to win the title twice. Besides, the Caribbeans had also won the ICC Under-19 World Cup title in February 2016. Chasing England’s Fighting score of 155 to win, Wet Indies were in dire straits as they lost the valuable wickets of Johnson Charles (1), Chris Gayle (4) and Lendl Simmons (0) only for eleven runs on the board. However, Marlon Samuels (85 not out) played the anchor role and partnering with Dwayne Bravo (25) steadied the innings Pur to bar first, England suffered initial joits and lost wickets at regular intervals. However, their dependable batsman Joe Root (54) and, to some extent, Jos Buttler’s 30 stabilised innings as England scored 155 for nine wickets. Marlon Samuels of West Indies was declared the Man of the Match. India’s Virat Kohli who scored maximum runs in the tournament (273) was adjudged the Player of the Tournament. Mitchell Santner of New Zealand (10) and his compatriot Ish Sodhi (10) were the top wicket takers in the tournament.
West Indies Women Too win Title : West Indies women’s team won their maiden ICC World T20 in the same ground and on the same day. In the final, West Indies convincingly outsmarted the invincible Australians by eight wickets. Thus, the Caribbean eves deprived the previous three-time champions of their fourth ICC Women’s World T20 title. Opting to bat first, Australia scored 148 runs for five propelled by Elyse Villani (52), Meg Lanning (52) and Elyse Perry (28). In reply West Indies achieved the victory target losing just two wickets. West Indies Hayley Matthews was adjudged the Player of the Match while her compatrior Stafanie Taylor won the Player of the Tournament award.

Test, ODI and T20 Rankings

ICC launches Men’s and Women’s Team Rankings from Test, ODI and T20 cricket. India retain 1st position with 126 rating points, followed by West Indies (125 points) and New Zealand (120 points).

West Indies win ICC Cricket World T-20 Women’s cup 2016

West Indies women win their maiden Women’s Cricket World T-20 title. In the final clash at Eden Gardens, Kolkata, West Indies defeat reigning champions Australia by 8 wickets.

West Indies win ICC Cricket World T-20 Men’s cup 2016

West Indies win ICC Cricket World T-20 Men’s Cup 2016. In the final clash at Eden Gardens, Kolkata, West Indies defeat England by 4 wickets.

India win T-20 series against Sri Lanka

India win three-match T-20 series against Sri Lanka 2-1. In the third and final T-20 match played in Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh, India defeat Sri Lanka by nine wickets.

Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy

Uttar Pradesh clinch their maiden Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy with a thumping 38-run win over two-time champions Baroda in the final at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.