Brij Bhushan to be Chef de Mission

Wrestling Federation of India president Brij Bhushan Saran Singh is set to be named the Chef de Mission of the Asian Games-bound Indian contingent. The four deputy Chefs de Mission are set to be be appointed. The IOA has announced a 524-member contingent of athletes for the August 18-September 2 Asian Games in Indonesia.

India to hold first ever India Tourism Mart

To increase tourist footfalls, India will organise its first-ever India Tourism Mart for 3 days from September 16 in New Delhi. It is expected to provide a platform for all stakeholders in the tourism & hospitality industry to interact & create business opportunities. It will be organised by the Tourism Ministry, in partnership with Federation of Associations in Indian Tourism & Hospitality.

Dalabehera bags bronze in World Weightlifting

Indian lifter Jhilli Dalabehera has bagged the bronze medal in the 2018 IWF Junior World Weightlifting Championships at Tashkent. She lifted 167 kg in the 48 kg category to finish third on the podium. According to Indian Weightlifting Federation Secretary General Sahdev Yadav, Jhilli is the 2nd woman lifter after Saikhom Mirabai Chanu in 2013 to win a medal in the Junior World Championships.

FICCI awarded at X international IT forum

The Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce & Industry (FICCI) was awareded at X International IT Forum at Khanty-Mansiysk, Russia. FICCI was awarded for its support and active participation at the forum, consecutively for two years. The forum brought together industry leaders from BRICS and SCO nations to interact in the fields of information technology and digital transformation.

1st international football tournament in Iraq

Iraq will host a West Asia Football Federation championship in Basra in November 2018, the first international tournament to be staged in the country since the 1990s. Iraq has not played competitive internationals on home turf since its 1990 invasion of Kuwait. In March 2018, FIFA decided to lift a 30-year-old ban from Iraq on hosting the international football.

Rajinder Singh named Hockey India president

Rajinder Singh has been named the president of Hockey India, following Mariamma Koshy’s resignation from the post. He is currently the Senior Vice President of Hockey India. Koshy was appointed as the President of Hockey India in November 2016 following Narinder Batras decision to step down after being elected as the President of International Hockey Federation.

TTFI recommended Manika Batra for Arjuna Award

Table Tennis Federation of India has recommended Manika Batra, country’s only quadruple medallist at 21st Commonwealth Games, for the prestigious Arjuna Award.Batra created history in Gold Coast, single-handedly taking India to a maiden team gold before winning a singles gold, another first. She also secured a women’s doubles silver alongside Mouma Das & mixed doubles bronze with G Sathiyan

Dilip Chenoy new Secretary General of FICCI

Director General of Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce & Industry, Dilip Chenoy, has been appointed as the Secretary General of the industry body.The decision came after incumbent Secretary General, Sanjaya Baru decided to step down from his position. A media advisor to former PM Manmohan Singh, Baru was appointed as the Secretary General of FICCI in September last year.

World Haemophilia Day Observed On April 17

World Haemophilia Day is recognized worldwide on 17th April every year to increase awareness of haemophilia and other inherited bleeding disorders.It was started by the World Federation of Haemophilia. It also helps to raise funds for patients who cannot afford haemophilia treatment. The theme for World Haemophilia Day 2018 is “sharing knowledge”.

Kidambi Srikanth Becomes World No.1

Indian badminton star Kidambi Srikanth became world No. 1 in the Badminton World Federation (BWF) rankings. Srikanth has moved to the top of the men’s singles rankings with 76895 points. In 2017, he became the first Indian to win back-to-back Super Series titles. In October 2017, Srikanth became the second Indian after Prakash Padukone to win the Denmark Open.