World cup

Australia withdraw from U-19 World Cup Cricket

Australia withdraws from the Under 19 World Cup Tournament in Bangladesh, which is being held from January 22 to Februry 14, 2016. Australia pulls out citing security reasons.

Brendon McCullum conferred with Sir Richard Hadlee Medal for 2014-15

New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum has been awarded Sir Richard Hadlee medal, the country’s highest cricketing honour, for his inspirational leadership and exemplary batting at a glittering ceremony, in Auckalnd. McCullum, 33, led the Kiwis to their first World Cup final where they did lose to Australia by seven wickets at a packed MCG on March 29 but won a million fans with their entertaining show throughout the 50-over showpiece event. With 328 runs in nine matches at a strike rate of 188.50, McCullum led by example to be named captain of the ICC’s team of the tournament.


From a distance, Australia and New Zealand’s flags appear similar. Closer look reveals there are six stars on one belonging to Kangaroos as against four on the Kieiws’ wave. On a day loyalty at Melbourne Cricket Ground
The 2015 Cricket World Cup was the 11th Cricket World Cup, jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand from 14 February to 29 March 2015. Fourteen teams played 49 matches in 14 venues, with Australia staging 26 games at grounds in Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney while New Zealand hosted 23 games in Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Hamilton, Napier, Nelson and Wellington. The hosting rights were awarded at the same time as those of the 2011 Cricket World Cup, which Australia and New Zealand had originally bid to host, and the 2019 Cricket World Cup, which was awarded to England. The 2011 tournament was awarded to the four Asian Test cricket playing countries, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh (Pakistan later lost the co-hosting rights due to a terrorist attack on the Sri Lankan team). The International Cricket Council were sufficiently impressed with the trans-Tasman bid that it was decided to award the next World Cup to Australia and New Zealand. This was the second time the tournament was held in Australia and New Zealand, with the first being the 1992 Cricket World Cup. Sachin Tendulkar was named as the 2015 Cricket World Cup Ambassador by the ICC for the second time, after 2011 Cricket World Cup where he was the ambassador. India were the defending champions, having won the tournament in 2011. Tickets for the Pool B match between India and Pakistan, played on 15 February 2015, reportedly sold out within 12 minutes of going on sale. The final match of the tournament took place at the Melbourne Cricket Ground between co-hosts New Zealand and Australia in front of a record crowd of 93,013 while the average attendance throughout the tournament was 21,071. Australia defeated New Zealand by 7 wickets to win their fifth ICC Cricket World Cup .
On 9 July 2013, as a result of a tied match against the Netherlands, Ireland became the first country to qualify for the 2015 World Cup. On 4 October 2013, Afghanistan qualified for their first Cricket World Cup after beating Kenya to finish in second place behind Ireland.
• New Zealand batsman Martin Guptil became the Highest score in the tournament with 547 runs • Highest wicket taker (22) – Trent Boult (New Zealand) and Mitchell Starc (Australia)
World Cup Champion :
Australia–5 (2015 (11TH), 2007 (9TH), 2003 (8TH), 1999 (7TH), 1987 (4TH))
West Indies–2 (1975 (1ST), 1979 (2ND)
India–2 (2011 (10TH), 1983 (3RD))
Pakistan–1 (1992 (5TH))
Sri Lanka–1 (1996 (6TH))

Vettori bids goodbye to cricket
Veteran left-arm spinner Daniel Vettori, the most capped ODI player for New Zealand, bid adieu to the 50-over format. Vettori ended an illustrious 18 year career in which he created many records for New zealand. In his 113 Test appearances, Vettori took 362 wickets and his tally in Tests stands at 4531 runs. He is the most capped Kiwi player but also the team’s leading wicket—taker with 305 scalps at an average of 31.71 from 295 games.

Chris Gayle hits first-ever World Cup double hundred

West Indies opener Chris Gayle became the first batsman to score a double century in a World Cup innings when he reached the landmark against Zimbabwe in a Pool B clash. It was also only the fifth double century in all ODI cricket and the first by a non-Indian, with Rohit Sharma (two), Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag the only other batsmen to achieve the feat. The West Indies coincidentally scored his double century exactly on the day when master blaster hammered first ever ODI double ton five years ago in 2010 against South Africa in Gwalior.
Records broken by Chris Gayle:
•First batsman to score a double hundred at World Cup.
•Fastest ODI double hundred off 138 balls. Virender Sehwag was the previous fastest off 140 balls.
•Fourth batsman to score ODI double hundred.
•Equals the record for most sixes an innings – Rohit Sharma and AB de Villiers’

ICC World Cup 2015 launched with quirky opening ceremony

The 11th edition of the ICC World Cup was officially declared open after a two-act opening ceremony in Christchurch and Melbourne. The event was a wonderful mix of culture and traditions of the host nations Australia and New Zealand. The first match of the tournament will take place at the Hagley Oval between New Zealand and Sri Lanka on February 14. International Cricket Council chief executive David Richardson unveiled the Cricket World Cup trophy, saying it was a symbol of the ICC’s values of excellence, integrity and inclusion.

Kabaddi World Cup 2014

India defeat Pakistan and New Zealand, respectively to win Men’s and Women’s title of Kabaddi World Cup 2014 in Jalandhar, Punjab.

MRF Becomes Global Partner for World Cup

Leading tyre manufacturer MRF Ltd. on 1st Dec. formally signed the agreement with ICC to be a global partner for the ICC World Cup 2015. KM Mammen, chairman and MD of MRF, inked the agreement with ICC chairman N Srinivasan in Chennai. The function began with a two-minute silence as a mark of respect for Australian cricketer Philip Hughes, before the World Cup trophy was unveiled. A month ago, when BCCI interim president Shivlal Yadav inked a deal with MRF whereby Indian pacers could train at the MRF Pace Foundation under Glenn McGrath, the MRF top brass had expressed their desire to be associated with the game in more ways. “The World Cup is a big stage and MRF would get good mileage by being associated with it,” said MRF director Rahul Mammen.

10m air pistol events in the World cup

In men’s and women’s 10m air pistorl events in the World Cup Final in Gabala, Azerbaijan, Sergey Chervyakovskiy of Russia and Alejandra Zavala of Mexico finish first, respectively.