Kolkata gets all women police squad

The Kolkata Police has commissioned its exclusive women squad “The Winners” to combat crime on women across the metropolitan city. The new batch of policewomen would be deployed at specific places to move where civilian women face danger from possible assault and criminal attacks. Keshari Nath Tripathi is the current governor of West Bengal.

Best-ever Booker Prize winner

The English Patient’ was voted as the best-ever Man Booker Prize winner, celebrating five decades of this prestigious literary award. Michael Ondaatje’s ‘The English Patient’ won the Booker Prize in the year 1992 and was made in a movie in 1996 that won nine academy awards. The novel beat 4 other novels in an online poll that received a total of 9,000 votes.

PM to inaugrate number of projects in MP

PM Modi to inaugurate economical urban transport scheme named ‘Sutra Seva’ in Indore under the Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) scheme. Modi will dedicate the Mohanpura Irrigation Project worth Rs 3,866 crore in Rajgarh district to the people of the state. He wiil also distribute awards to winners of Swachh Survekshan 2018 – Indore, Bhopal and Chandigarh.

Nadal won 11th French Open title in 14 yrs

World number one Rafael Nadal defeated world number eight Dominic Thiem in the men’s singles final to clinch his record-extending 11th French Open title in 14 years. With this, Nadal equalled former world number one female player Margaret Court’s record of winning a single Grand Slam singles title 11 times. Overall, it was Nadal’s 17th Grand Slam title.

Messi won European Golden Shoe

Barcelona striker Lionel Messi has won his 5th European Golden Shoe after his team defeated Real Sociedad in their final La Liga match of the season. Messi won the award with 34 goals, for a total of 68 points during the 2017-18 season. Messi is the only player to have won the European Golden Shoe 5 times. 4-time winner Cristiano Ronaldo finished 9th after scoring 26 goals for Real Madrid.

No Nobel Prize in Literature this year

The Swedish Academy has postponed the 2018 Nobel Prize in Literature following sex-abuse allegations and other issues within its ranks that have tarnished the body’s reputation. The 2018 winner will be presented alongside the 2019 winner next year. It is the first time since wartime 1943 that the prestigious award will not be given.

Salah named writers’ Footballer of the Year

Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah has been named the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year. The Egypt star – the first African winner of the award – also won the Professional Footballers’ Association player of the year award in April. Salah has scored 31 goals in 34 league appearances for Liverpool this season.

Rivzi gets silver at ISSF World Cup

Shahzar Rizvi on 24th April clinched India’s first medal at the ISSF World Cup, winning a silver in the 10m air pistol event.Rizvi had won the gold medal in the ISSF World Cup in Guadalajara, Mexico in March. Russia clinched the gold medal while the bronze went to Bulgaria.

First rapper to win Pulitzer Prize for music

Kendrick Lamar has become the first rapper to win the Pulitzer Prize for music.Lamar won the Pulitzer for his 2017 album “DAMN” & was also the first music winner in the history of the Pulitzers to come from outside of the world of classical or jazz. Lamar’s fusion of jazz, poetry and blues with social themes and love songs has made him one of the most innovative rappers of his generation.

Indian animation expert Bhimsain passed away

Indian animation pioneer and multiple National Award winner Bhimsain Khurana has passed away.It was his pioneering work in animation and films like Dooriyan (1979) and Gharaonda (1977) that came to define him. He is credited for the first Indian computer-generated animation series Lok Gatha (1992) that alone won him three national awards.

2018 Asia Cup moved out from India to UAE

The 2018 Asia Cup, that was earlier scheduled to be held in India, has now been moved out to the United Arab Emirates.The decision was taken following a meeting of the executive board of the Asian Cricket Council held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and the winner of Asia Cup qualifier will compete in the 50-overs format event.

Gitanjali became America’s Scientist

11 years old Gitanjali Rao from Lone Tree, Colorado, is the winner of this year’s Discovery Education 3M Young Scientist Challenge. She got the award for her sensor that can detect lead levels in water better than traditional methods. Gitanjali after winning will take home US$25,000 for her innovative idea, which she said that she developed approximately five months ago.

Ronaldo won FIFA player award

24 : Cristiano Ronaldo has caught up with Lionel Messi to become a five-time winner of FIFA’s best player award. The Real Madrid forward was crowned player of the year yesterday at the FIFA Best ceremony at the London Palladium theatre. Lieke Martens, who scored in the final win over Denmark, won the player’s award and Sarina Wiegman collected the coaching accolade.

Sydney Open 2015 Winners

Czech Petra Kvitova beats compatriot Karolina Pliskova to win the Women’s Sydney International. The world No.4 and second seed needed to win two tie-breakers to clinch victory over her team mate in a big hitting contest at the Ken Rosewell Arena. While in the Men’s section, Viktor Troicki crushed fellow qualifier Mikhail Kukushkin 6-2, 6-3 in the final of the Sydney International. In the first ATP final in history featuring two qualifiers, Troicki dispatched Kukushkin in 64 minutes after breaking the Kazakh twice in each set.

Golden Globe Awards announced

The 72nd Golden Globe Awards announced in Beverly Hills, California. Coming of age tale “Boyhood” won the coveted Golden Globe for best drama. While the quirky period caper “The Grand Budapest Hotel” was the surprise winner for best comedy or musical, in a big upset to awards season front-runner “Birdman.”
List of award winners –
•Best Motion Picture-Drama: Boyhood
•Best Actor in a Motion Picture- Drama: Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything
•Best Actress in a Motion Picture-Drama: Julianne Moore, Still Alice
•Best Motion Picture-Comedy or Musical: The Grand Budapest Hotel
•Best Actress in a Motion Picture – Comedy or Musical: Amy Adams, Big Eyes
•Best Actor in a Motion Picture-Comedy or Musical: Michael Keaton, Birdman
•Best Animated Film: How To Train Your Dragon 2
•Best Foreign Language Film: Leviathan (Russia)
•Best Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture: Patricia Arquette, Boyhood
•Best Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture: J.K. Simmons, Whiplash
•Best Director-Motion Picture: Richard Linklater, Boyhood
•Best Screenplay: Birdman
•Best Original Score – Motion Picture: Johann Johannsson, The Theory of Everything
•Best Original Song – Motion Picture: John Legend and Common, “Glory,” Selma