Rajya Sabha

Haryana Governor gets additional charge

Haryana Governor Kaptan Singh Solanki has been given the additional charge of Himachal Pradesh by President Ram Nath Kovind. Solanki would discharge the functions of the Governor of Himachal Pradesh, during the absence of Himachal Governor Acharya Devvrat. Solanki has previously served two terms as a member of the Rajya Sabha and has been a member of various Parliamentary committees.

President nominates 4 members to Rajya Sabha

The President of India has made 4 nominations to the Rajya Sabha rested by Article 80 of the Indian Constitution. The nominations are farmer leader Ram Shakal, Columnist Rakesh Sinha, Sculptor Raghunath Mohapatra & Classical Dancer Sonal Mansingh. The said article empowers President to nominate 12 persons having special knowledge of literature, science, art and social service to Rajya Sabha.

Panel for automatic suspension in RS

The rules review committee set up by Rajya Sabha Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu has submitted its interim report. It made two key recommendations: automatic suspension of wilful offenders and changing question-hour timing. The two-member committee is headed by the former secretary general of Rajya Sabha V.K. Agnihotri. The report has to be approved by the Rules Committee of the Upper House.

MoU to boost inter-parliamentary dialogue

For the first time, Rajya Sabha has signed a MoU with its counterpart in a foreign country, Rwanda, for promoting inter-parliamentary dialogue. The MoU, with 6 articles of cooperation, aims to promote inter-parliamentary dialogue, capacity building of parliamentary staff & organisation of conferences among others. M Venkaiah Naidu is the first Rajya Sabha chairman to sign such an agreement.

5 new languages for Rajya Sabha members

Members of the Rajya Sabha can now speak in any of the 22 Scheduled Languages from the Monsoon Session of Parliament beginning on July 18th, 2018. The simultaneous interpretation facility has been added in 5 more languages – Dogri, Kashmiri, Konkani, Santhali & Sindhi. Of the 22 scheduled languages, Rajya Sabha had earlier established simultaneous interpretation service for 12 languages.

Shantaram Naik passes away in Goa

Former Congress MP Shantaram Naik passed away in Goa, after suffering a heart attack while being shifted to Trimurti hospital. The 73-year-old was a one-time North Goa Lok Sabha MP and a two-time Rajya Sabha MP. He successfully contested the North Goa Lok Sabha seat in 1984 and was instrumental in the passage of the Statehood Bill that consequently granted statehood to Goa on May 30, 1987.

Noted lyricist, poet Balkavi Bairagi died

Noted Hindi film lyricist, Nandram Das Bairagi, popularly known as Balkavi Bairagi is dead. Bairagi was a Lok Sabha member between 1984 and 1989 and also a former Rajya Sabha MP. He wrote several Hindi poems, among which, Jhar gaye paat, bisar gayi tehni is considered a gem by many Hindi poets. He was given the name Balkavi as he wrote some classic poems in his childhood.

Committee to review conduct of business in RS

The Chairman of Rajya Sabha – Venkaiah Naidu has constituted a 2-member committee to review rules of procedure & conduct of business in the House. The committee will be headed by former Secretary General of the Rajya Sabha, Dr V. K. Agnihotri. The formation of this committee comes with an aim to improve the day-to-day functioning of the two houses of the Parliament.

Naidu rejects impeachment notice against CJI

Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu has rejected the notice given by opposition parties for impeachment of CJI Dipak Misra citing lack of substantial merit in it.This is the first time ever that an impeachment notice has been filed against a sitting CJI. The rejection of the notice comes a day after he held the consultations with such experts to determine the maintainability of the motion

Arun jaitley re-appointed as leader of RS

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley was once again appointed as the Leader of the Rajya Sabha (RS) following his re-election to the House.In June 2014, Mr Jaitley was appointed the leader of the House in Rajya Sabha. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is the Leader of the House in Lok Sabha. The Leader of the House is a Rajya Sabha member who is either a cabinet minister or another nominated minister.