Rajat Sharma becomes DDCA president

Renowned journalist Rajat Sharma has been elected as the President of Delhi & District Cricket Association. Sharma surpassed former World Cup winning Indian cricketer Madan Lal by 517 votes to register his win. Sharma is currently the Chairman and Editor in Chief of India TV and has been awarded Padma Bhushan by Government of India in 2015 in the field of Literature and Education.

Google to train 8000 Indian journalist

Google will provide training to 8,000 journalists in English and six other Indian languages on fact checking. Training workshops will be conducted in English, Hindi, Tamil, Telugu, Bengali, Marathi and Kannada. Google News Initiative India Training Network will select 200 journalists from cities across India and train them during 5 day train-the-trainer boot camps.

Veteran journalist Adiraju passes away

Senior journalist and writer Adiraju Venkateswara Rao passed away in Hyderabad. He worked for several Telugu and English dailies and news agencies including Andhra Jyothi, Udayam, Deccan Chronicle, Indian Express, Himachal Times and Hindustan Samachar at Hyderabad and Delhi. He played an active role in the separate Telangana agitation in 1969.

Odisha govt launches health insurance scheme

The Odisha government launched a health insurance scheme, called “Gopabandhu Sambadika Swasthya Bima Yojana”. for working journalists. In the first phase, as many as 3,233 working journalists will get health insurance coverage up to Rs 2 lakh a year. At least five members of the journalists family will be covered under the scheme. The scribes will get their health insurance card.

North Korea dismantled its nuclear test site

25 : North Korea has carried out demolition of its Punggye-ri nuclear test site in a series of huge explosions. Destruction of the nuclear testing tunnels at Punggye-ri is a tangible step toward denuclearization goal that Kim Jong-un agreed to at the 27 April Panmunjom Summit. North Korea permitted a group of journalists from Britain, China, Russia, South Korea and US to watch the destruction.

Mark Tully chosen for RedInk Award 2018

Veteran British journalist and former BBC India correspondent Sir William Mark Tully has been chosen for 2018 RedInk award for lifetime achievement in journalism. Tully worked with the BBC for 30 years before resigning in July 1994. He held the position of Chief of Bureau, BBC, Delhi, for 20 years. The RedInk awards for excellence in journalism are instituted by the Mumbai Press Club.

Alvarado sworn in as Costa Rican President

Journalist Carlos Alvarado has been sworn in as Costa Rica’s President, accepting the sash of office from his predecessor and ally, Luis Guillermo Solis. At 39, Alvarado is the country’s youngest president in modern history. Although Costa Rica is one of the region’s most stable economies, the Central American nation is struggling to get its deficit under control amidst a Fitch downgrade.

Egyptian journalist gets press freedom prize

Egyptian photo journalist Mahmoud Abu Zeid won the 2018 Press Freedom Prize awarded by the United Nations cultural agency UNESCO on 23rd April.The prize, the Guillermo Cano Press Freedom Prize, will be awarded on May 2 to mark World Press Freedom Day. The $25,000 World Press Freedom Prize was established in 1997 to honor Guillermo Cano Isaza who was a journalist.

Noted journalist S Nihal Singh passed away

17 : Noted journalist and former Chief Editor of The Statesman and The Indian Express, Surendra Nihal Singh passed away on 16th April.He was the founding editor of The Indian Post in 1987. He was awarded the prestigious International Editor of the Year Award in New York for opposing the Emergency imposed by former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi.

Mithali Raj adjudged Sportsperson of the Year

Indian women’s cricket team captain Mithali Raj was adjudged ‘Sportsperson of the Year’ at the Telangana Sports Journalists Association annual awards for 2017.She is the highest run-scorer in women’s international cricket and the only female cricketer to surpass the 6,000 run mark in ODIs. In December 2017, she was named as one of the players in the ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year.