Sunil Mittal becomes honorary chairman of ICC

Sunil Bharti Mittal, Founder & Chairman of Bharti Enterprises, will step down as the Chairman of International Chamber of Commerce. He will now function as the Honorary Chairman of ICC commencing July 1, 2018. He will be succeeded by Paul Polman, CEO of Unilever, as ICC Chairman. Mittal was only the 3rd Indian to have been appointed the chairman of the ICC since it was constituted in 1919.

ICC added 4 teams to the ODI Team Rankings

Netherlands, Nepal, UAE and Scotland have been added by ICC to the list of ODI-Test playing nations, expanding the teams from 12 to 16. Netherlands secured its ODI status by winning the ICC World Cricket League Championship last year. Whereas, UAE, Nepal and Scotland earned it in the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018, by finishing as the three leading Associates.

Nepal cricket team gets ODI status

Nepal cricket team was given One-Day International (ODI) status for the first time ever after its six-wicket win over Papua New Guinea in the World Cup Qualifiers. Nepal was given the Affiliate status by the ICC first in 1988 and was later promoted to the Associate rank in 1996. In 2008, Nepal was included in World Cricket League Division 5, where it finished on the third spot.

Philippines withdrew from ICC

Philippines President Rodrigo Duterte has announced immediate withdrawal of Philippines from the International Criminal Court. This comes after ICC started an investigation into allegations of crimes against humanity committed by Duterte in his war against drugs. He has accused U.N. special rapporteurs & ICC investigators of painting him as a ‘ruthless and heartless violator of human rights’.

Jadeja becomes no.1 all-rounder in Tests

India’s Ravindra Jadeja edged out Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hasan to become top-ranked Test all-rounder as per the latest ICC rankings. This is the first time that Jadeja has secured the top position among all-rounders, he is also currently the top-ranked Test bowler. Jadeja’s knock of 70 not out during 2nd Test against Sri Lanka has also gained nine places to reach 51st rank among the batsmen.

Smriti Named in ICC Women’s Team

Indian batswoman Smriti Mandhana became the only Indian cricketer to be named in the first ever ICC Women’s Team of the Year 2016. The women’s team of the year will be captained by West Indies’ Stafanie Taylor. This is the first time that the ICC has named a women’s team of the year. The side was selected by a panel consisting of Clare Connor (Chair), Mel Jones and Shubhangi Kulkarni.

Test, ODI and T20 Rankings

ICC launches Men’s and Women’s Team Rankings from Test, ODI and T20 cricket. India retain 1st position with 126 rating points, followed by West Indies (125 points) and New Zealand (120 points).