ICICI Bank gets new part-time chairman

ICICI Bank has appointed former bureaucrat Girish Chandra Chaturvedi as its non-executive part-time chairman. Chaturvedi is a 1977-batch IAS officer, who retired as the Oil Secretary in January 2013. The term of M K Sharma, the current chairman of ICICI Bank, ends on June 30.

Anil Kumar Jha appointed CMD of Coal India Ltd

Anil Kumar Jha has been appointed as the Chairman-Cum-Managing director (CMD) of Coal India Limited. Anil Kumar is at present the CMD of Mahanadi Coalfields Ltd. Anil Kumar will replace acting chairman Suresh Kumar, an IAS officer, who has been holding the post of additional secretary at the ministry of coal. CIL is a state-owned coal mining company headquartered in Kolkata.

Yudhvir Malik got extra charge of NHAI chief

Yudhvir Singh Malik, the Secretary of Ministry of Road, Transport, and Highways, has been given additional charge of the post of NHAI chairman.Deepak Kumar, the chairman of National Highway Authority of India (NHAI), was sent back to his cadre state Bihar before completion of his tenure. Kumar, a 1984 IAS officer of Bihar cadre, had taken over as the NHAI chief on June 28 last year.

Pawan Agarwal gets extension as CEO of FSSAI

Pawan Kumar Agarwal has been given three months extension as the Chief Executive Officer of the Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI). Pawan Kumar Agarwal is a 1985-batch IAS officer of West Bengal cadre and has served as Joint Secretary of Ministry of Skill Development and Entre-preneurship. He was appointed as the CEO of the FSSAI in December 2015.

Subhash Chandra appointed as IRDAI Chairman

Former IAS Officer Subhash Chandra Khuntia was appointed as the new Chairman of Insurance Regulatory Development Authority of India (IRDAI) for three-years. Khuntia will succeed T S Vijayan, who completed his five-year term in February. His appointment was approved by Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC). IRDAI regulates Insurance sector of the country.

Chandra Bhushan appointed Deputy EC

Chandra Bhushan Kumar has been appointed as Deputy Election Commissioner. Bhushan is a 1995 batch IAS officer of union territories cadre. He has been appointed to the post for five years, an order issued by the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT).

ISA’s headquarters agreement signed

The International Solar Alliance (ISA) and the Ministry of External Affairs, signed the Host Country Agreement. The Agreement will give ISA the power to contract, to acquire and dispose off movable and immovable properties, to institute and defend legal proceedings. The ISA became the first international intergovernmental treaty-based organization to be headquartered in India.

India offers Madagascar USD 80 million LoC

India has decided to offer Madagascar a USD 80 million Letter of Credit (LoC) for agriculture and mechanisation. Madagascar is straddled in the Indian Ocean and alongside the strategic Mozambique channel. The island country is the fourth largest in Africa, in terms of size and is around 300 times bigger than Mauritius. Madagascar is also a member of the International Solar Alliance (ISA).

No limit on membership in ISA

Membership of International Solar Alliance will be thrown open to all countries, with no restrictions on duration of sunlight or geographical location. When the ISA was announced in 2015, 121 nations situated between the Tropic of Cancer and the Tropic of Capricorn and receiving 300 days of sunlight were eligible for membership. Sixty countries had signed up to join the ISA.

Chhattisgarh gets new chief secretary

Senior IAS officer Ajay Singh, of 1983 batch, has been appointed Chief Secretary of Chhattisgarh on Thursday, replacing Vivek Dhand.Mr. Dhand, of 1981 batch, was Chief Secretary for four years and was to retire in March. He was named the chairman of the state’s Real Estate Regulatory Authority but opted for voluntary retirement.