Hindi poet

Poet Gopal Das Saxena ‘Neeraj’ passes away

Poet Gopal Das Saxena ‘Neeraj’ passes away
Famous Hindi poet Gopal Das Neeraj passed away at the AIIMS trauma center on 19 July. He was a Professor of Hindi at Dharma Samaj College in Aligarh. He was also accorded the rank of a cabinet minister by the previous Akhilesh Yadav government in UP. He was awarded Padma Shri in 1991 and Padma Bhushan in 2007.

Mahadevi Varma Is Today’s Google Doodle

Mahadevi Varma, celebrated Hindi poet, freedom fighter, women’s rights activist and educationist, was honoured by Google with a Doodle.In 1982, Mahadevi Varma received the Jnanpith Award for her outstanding contributions to Indian literature on April 27. She was also honoured with Padma Bhushan in 1956, Sahitya Akademi Fellowship in 1979, and Padma Vibhushan in 1988.

Hindi poet Kedarnath Singh passes away

Eminent Hindi poet Kedarnath Singh passed away here on 20th March following a prolonged illness. A Jnanpith and Sahitya Akademi awardee, Kedarnath Singh was known for his simple style of writing. Some of his best-known works include the award-winning poetry collection ‘Akaal Mein Saras’, ‘Bagh’, ‘Abhi Bilkul Abhi’, ‘Zameen pak Rahi Hai’, ‘Yahan se Dekho’, ‘Tolstoy aur cycle’.

Kambar to head Sahitya Akademi

Kannada litterateur Chandrashekar Kambar has been elected as president of the Sahitya Akademi in the election held for the post.Hindi poet Madhav Koushik has been elected as vice-president.Prof. Kambar is the third Kannada writer to head the country’s premier literary institution, after Vinayak Krishna Gokak (1983) and U.R. Ananthamurthy (1993).

Hindi Poet Kunwar Narain passes away

Eminent Hindi poet and Jnanpith awardee Kunwar Narayan passed away at his home in New Delhi. Kunwar Narayan was in coma since July 4 after suffering from brain haemorrhage. He was born on 9 September 1927 in UP’s Faizabad. Kunwar Narayan was known for his poetry, stories, and critiques. His first poetry collection was “Chakravyuh”. It is considered as a landmark in Hindi literature.

Jananpith Announces Navlekhan Award

Two new Hindi writers Shraddha and Ghyansham Kumar Devansh have been chosen for Bharatiya Jnanpith Navlekhan Award for the year 2016. The decision to confer the award on Shraddha for her short story, ‘Hawa Mein Phadphadati Chitthi’ & on Devansh for his poem ‘Akash Mein Deh’ was taken unanimously by a selection panel. It was chaired by eminent poet Vishnu Nagar.

Gangadhar Award for Leeladhar Jagoori

Eminent Hindi poet Leeladhar Jagoori would be honoured with the prestigious Gangadhar National Award for the year 2015. The award, carrying a cash prize of Rs. 50,000, a shawl and citation would be presented to Jagoori by Sambalpur University in January next year. The prestigious award was instituted by Sambalpur University in 1989. Jagoori will be the 25th recipient of the award.