Australia wins Champions Trophy 2018

World Champions Australia defeated India 3-1 via shoot-off after both teams were locked at 1-1 in regulation time to clinch its 2nd consecutive Champions Trophy hockey title. It was the 37th and final edition of the tournament with Australia winning 15th Champions Trophy title. It was being held at Breda. India won their consecutive silver medal while the Netherlands won the bronze medal.

India clinch Kabaddi Masters title

Putting up yet another superlative show, India thrashed Iran 44-26 to emerge champions of the six-nation Kabaddi Masters Dubai. India is the reigning world champions and has won gold medals in all the Asian Games to date, and all World Cup events so far. The six-nation invitational tournament was organised by International Kabaddi Federation.

FIFA lifts suspension on Guatemala

FIFA lifted a suspension imposed on Guatemala over its failure to comply with anti-corruption rules. The suspension prevented Guatemalan teams from participating in international competitions such as the Gold Cup, the Central American Games and the CONCACAF Champions League. FIFA imposed ban on Guatemala in October 2016.

Real Madrid won the 2017–18 Champions League

Real Madrid have claimed yet another Champions League title by beating Liverpool FC 3-1 in the final. It is the third consecutive year that Real Madrid have won the tournament and the fourth such in five years, taking their total tally to a record 13 titles. Madrid’s Gareth Bale became the first player ever to come on as a substitute and score twice in a European Cup/Champions League final.

South Korea won Asian Champions Trophy 2018

Defending champions Indian Women’s Hockey Team lost to hosts South Korea 0-1 in the final match of the Women’s Asian Champions Trophy 2018. The win for South Korea saw them lift the title for the third time after having won in the 2010 and 2011 editions of the tournaments. India’s Vandana Katariya was declared the player of the tournament.

Lewis Hamilton won Azerbaijan Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton took his first victory of the season at a dramatic and chaotic Azerbaijan Grand Prix in Baku.Mercedes team-mate Valtteri Bottas was forced to retire with just three laps to go. It was the first victory of the season for champions Mercedes.

ICC scraped 50-over Champions Trophy

International Cricket Council has decided to convert the 2021 Champions Trophy, scheduled in India, into a World T20 event.Champions Trophy was the second-biggest 50-overs tournament after the World Cup. The number of teams competing varied over the years. This means that there would now be two ICC World T20 events in 2 years — the 2020 edition in Australia and the 2021 edition in India.

Mumbai to host Intercontinental Cup

Mumbai Football Arena, the new hub of Indian football, will play host to the inaugural edition of the 4 nation Intercontinental Cup.The tournament will see Indian national team competing with South Africa, New Zealand & Chinese Taipei. Intercontinental Cup comes on back of Tri-nation series in Sept 2017 which was also held at the same venue with India eventually emerging champions.

Shreyasi Singh won Double Trap Gold

Shooter Shreyasi Singh won the gold medal in women’s double trap event at the 2018 Commonwealth Games in Gold Coast.The bronze medal went to Scotland. She had won a Bronze medal at the 2014 Asian Games in Incheon in the double trap team event. She won the silver medal in double trap event at the 2017 Commonwealth Shooting Championships.

Manika Batra won gold medal in Table Tennis

Manika Batra inspired India to a historic gold medal with her stunning singles victories, as she defeated defending champions Singapore 3-1 to claim the gold medal in TT at Commonwealth Games 2018.This is India’s first ever gold at the multi-sport event. It was only the second table tennis team gold for India at the Games with the men achieving the feat in the 2006 Melbourne edition.