Raman Singh defeats no-confidence motion

A no-trust motion moved by the Congress against the Raman Singh-led BJP Government was defeated by a voice vote in the Chhattisgarh Assembly. This was the third no-trust motion faced by the Singh government, in power since 2013. Chhattisgarh has been under the BJP rule since 2003 and will be going to the polls later this year.

Stainless steel charkha unveiled at Sabarmati

BJP president Amit Shah unveiled a stainless steel Charkha at the Sabarmati riverfront in Ahmedabad. The charkha, which is 21 feet in length, 11 feet in height, and 6.5 feet in breadth, is made of chromium-nickel stainless steel and is installed on the Sabarmati Riverfront across the Sabarmati Ashram. The move is said to popularise Khadi amongst youth in the country.

Arunachal to repeal anti-conversion law

BJP-ruled Arunachal Pradesh is likely to repeal the Arunachal Pradesh Freedom of Religion Act or the Anti-Conversion Law which was passed in 1978. The law was adopted to check Proselytism: an act of attempting to convert people to another religion or opinion. But now the govt thinks that it is undermining secularism. Arunachal was the 3rd State after Odisha and MP to enact this law.

J&K comes under Governor’s rule

Jammu and Kashmir came under Governor’s rule for the fourth time in a decade since Governor NN Vohra assumed the office on June 25, 2008. It is also the eighth time the state witnesses the Centre’s rule in the last 41 years. This comes after the BJP pulled out of the BJP-PDP coalition government in J&K.

Jammu & Kashmir CM Mehbooba Mufti Resigns

Jammu & Kashmir’s Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti submitted her resignation to the Governor after BJP announced to pull out of an alliance with Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). The reason for the pullout was failure to control the situation in the state and meet its promises. BJP’s General Secretary Ram Madhav also called for Governor’s rule in Jammu & Kashmir.

Yeddyurappa resigns as Karnataka CM

The Karnataka government led by B.S. Yeddyurappa resigned before facing a crucial trust vote in the assembly. The floor test was to be conducted after Congress-JD (S) alliance claimed the right to form the government on the basis of the 117 seats it had. BJP with 104 seats, was eight short of the majority-mark of 111.

Yeddyurappa takes oath as the CM of Karnataka

BS Yeddyurappa of Bharatiya Janata Party took oath as the Chief Minister of Karnataka. This comes after the Supreme Court refused to stay state Governor Vajubhai Vala’s decision to invite BJP, which fell short of the majority mark, to form the government. Yeddyurappa has been given 15 days to prove BJP’s majority.

Nirmal Singh elected JK Assembly speaker

BJP legislator & former Deputy Chief Minister Nirmal Singh has been elected as the Speaker of the Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly. Singh, who is an MLA from Billawar constituency in Jammu region, was elected as the Speaker by a voice vote in a one-day special session of the J&K Assembly. Singh defeated Congress MLA from Bandipora, Usman Majeed.

‘Star Khel Mahakumbh’ Launched At HP

BJP MP Anurag Thakur and cricketing great Sachin Tendulkar has launched ‘Star Khel Mahakumbh’ at Dharamshala in Himachal Pradesh. The initiative has been designed in a manner as to attract participation of at least one lakh youth from across 5000 villages and 800 panchayats. The athletes will compete in volleyball, basketball, cricket, football, kabaddi and athletics.

Former MP CM Sunderlal Patwa Dies

Former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister and seasoned BJP leader Sunderlal Patwa has passed away. He was a two-time Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh. His first term lasted a month in 1980 & his second term lasted for two years from 1990 to 1992. He was also elected to the Lok Sabha from Chhindwara in 1997. He also won the 1999 Lok Sabha poll from Hoshangabad.