Candidates did not breach poll expenditure ceiling.

The ceiling of ` 16 lakh for election expanditure was not exceeded by winners and those who finished second and third slots in the Assembly elections. According to the details of election expandidutre hosted on the website of the state Elections Department, Chief Minister Jayalalithaa who won from Srirangam, incurved an expenditure of about ` 9.5 lakh; Former Chief Minister Karunanidhi spent ` 4.48 lakh; M.K. Stalin spent ` 3.33 lakh; Vijayakant spent ` 7.97 lakh; O. Panneerselvam spent ` 8.48 lakh; Saidai S. Duraisamy spent ` 6.12 lakh and K.V. Thangabalu spent ` 4.08 lakh.

Leave a Reply